Contact Info Subscribe Links


April-May 2017

Partners in
the Gospel


Online Edition

Download PDF

iPad and E-Reader




History Resources



Free Will Baptist Logo


news about the denomination

The following news items apply to (or affect) the Free Will Baptist denomination scattered across the nation and around the world.To read more about Free Will Baptists and the various departments that make up the national organization, visit

Read a brief history of Free Will Baptists in the United States.


Facebook Twitter Google Pinterest Email


Introducing the 2017 Nominations* for Standing Boards and Commissions

Home Missions / North American Ministries - 2023 
Bob Lewis (TN) replacing himself
Josh Baer (NC) replacing Robert Thebeau (MO) who is ineligible for re-election
David Sexton (VA) replacing himself

Josh Baer has been lead pastor at Cramerton FWB Church (NC) since July 2015. Prior to becoming lead pastor, he had served as associate pastor and minister of music since 2005. He graduated from Southeastern FWB College in 1998 with a Bachelor’s degree in sacred music. He earned a Master of Ministry from Bob Jones University in 2007, as well as a Specialist in Ministry in 2013. Currently, he is pursuing a Doctor of Ministry degree from Southeastern Baptist Seminary. Josh is a church planting coach for North American Ministries, a member of the Board of Directors for Southeastern FWB College, and vice-president of the Southeastern FWB College Alumni Association.

Board of Retirement and Insurance - 2023 
Danny Baer (NC) replacing himself
James Beasley (SC) replacing himself
Jack Daniel (GA) replacing Tim Hall (KY) who is ineligible for re-election

Jack Daniel has been a member of First FWB Church in Albany, Georgia, for 52 years and has served on the deacon board for 22 years. He served previously as a member of the Board of Retirement for 28 years (1985-2001 and 2003-2015), six years as chairman.

Board of FWB Foundation - 2023 
Bobby Edwards (TN) replacing himself
Melissa Haralson (AR) replacing Waymon Fields (AL) who is ineligible for re-election
Bob Thompson (OK) replacing Melvin Worthington (NC) who is ineligible for re-election

Melissa Haralson has operated her own full-service CPA firm in Atkins, Arkansas, since 1999. Prior to opening her own office, Melissa was senior accountant for Joe DuVall and Associates, in Conway, Arkansas, and bookkeeper/accountant for Angeles, Conner, and Davis, in Ft. Smith, Arkansas. She earned a B.S. in accounting from Arkansas Tech University in 1989 and passed the CPA exam in 1991. She attends Union Grove FWB Church in Atkins, Arkansas, where she works with women and children.

Bob Thompson is vice president of Institutional Advancement at Randall University. A veteran pastor of nearly 25 years, Bob graduated from Hillsdale College with a B.A. in theology. From 1996-2001, he served as state youth and camp director for the Arkansas State Association. He also has served as both assistant moderator and moderator of the Oklahoma State Association and has held various district associational positions.

Commission for Theological Integrity - 2022 
Kevin Hester (TN) replacing himself

Historical Commission - 2022 
Willie Martin (GA) replacing himself

Music Commission - 2022
Doug Little (TN) replacing himself

Media Commission - 2022
Marc Neppl (VA) replacing himself

Executive Committee - 2020 
Stan Bunch (MO) replacing himself
Wayne Hale (MID-ATL) replacing himself
Daniel Edwards (IN) replacing himself

General Officers
Moderator: Tim York (TN)
Assistant Moderator: William Smith (GA)
Clerk: Randy Bryant (FL)
Assistant Clerk: Ernie Lewis (IL)



2017 Yearbook Now Available

Antioch, TN—The 2017 Free Will Baptist Yearbooks have been mailed to district association clerks for distribution of complimentary copies to local churches.

If you wish to purchase a copy for personal use, contact Randall House Publications at 800-877-7030 or visit






©2017 ONE Magazine, National Association of Free Will Baptists